Sign In
SafeRecipes helps you easily find recipes that fit your needs. (Prototype with limited recipe listings.)

My Shortcuts

Sign-In to save and view Shortcuts

Default Shortcuts












My Profiles

You have no saved profiles.

Saved Searches

You have no saved searches.







Sign-In to save and view Shortcuts


Popular Diets

 

Buddhist-Compatible

This Buddhist diet is a tad stricter than lacto-vegetarianism.

Without:
  • meat (like red meat, pork, and poultry)
  • fish and shellfish
  • slaughtered meat derivatives (like animal rennets or gelatin)
  • eggs
  • alcohol
  • vegetables from the alium genus (onion, garlic, ..)
With:
  • dairy
  • insect by-products (like honey)
  • fruit and vegetables
  • nuts
  • seeds, beans, and grains

 

Diabetes

A balanced diet to manage glucose blood levels. Recipes that meet the following criteria may be helpful in managing diabetes.

Low in
  • glucose (like corn syrup and sugar)
  • fructose (fruit sugars)
  • other sugars (like lactose from milk, or maltose from starch)
  • sodium
  • high glycemic index foods, including refined carbohydrates (like white bread, potatoes, pasta, and rice)
  • saturated and trans fats (like red meat, high-fat dairy, and eggs)
With
  • fruits and vegetables
  • seeds and nuts
  • high-fiber whole grains
  • fish and shellfish
  • lean meats (like chicken breast)

Select low-glycemic in Advanced Search for strictly low-glycemic foods.


 

Halal-Compatible

The halal diet includes only foods that are allowed under Muslim law, with some scholarly variation. A halal-compatible recipe is halal when the necessary rituals have been performed in the preparation of all ingredients.

Without These Haram Foods
  • carnivorous animals with fangs
  • pigs and boars
  • birds of prey
  • reptiles and amphibians (mostly)
  • mules, donkeys
  • pests (like rats, squirrels, and monkeys)
  • protected animals (like ants, bees, and woodpeckers)
  • insects (except for locusts)
  • certain animal parts (like testicles, bladder, pancreas)
  • certain animal biproducts (like flowing blood, L-Cysteine, Calcium Phosphates, rennet, or gelatin)
  • poisonous seafood (like blowfish)
  • alcohol
With These Halal Foods
  • dairy
  • eggs
  • fruit and vegetables
  • nuts
  • seeds, beans, and grains
  • honey
  • domesticated poultry (like chicken, duck, and - controversially - turkey)
  • mammals (like cattle, sheep, goats, camels, rabbits)
  • seafood (with some variation especially regarding Prawns, Shrimps, Lobsters, Crabs, Squid, Octopus, and Oysters )
  • locusts

For variations, manually remove ingredients through Advanced Search.


 

Keto

The ketogenic diet is a low-carb, extremely high-fat diet designed to metabolize ketones from fat rather than glucose from carbohydrates. Consult your physician before attempting the keto diet, as many health conditions are contra-indicated.

High
  • Over 70% calories from fat
Low
  • Under 5% calories from carbohydrates

This diet was designed to manage epilepsy by decreasing inflammation and increasing inhibitory neurotransmitters in the brain. Like glucose, ketone levels are regulated by insulin. People with diabetes are at risk with a keto diet because they could end up with dangerous ketone levels, or ketoacidosis.


 

Kosher-Compatible

The kosher diet follows detailed Jewish dietary laws called Kashrut.
A kosher-compatible recipe is kosher when a Jewish person prepares it using kosher-certified ingredients and following the rules of Kashrut.

Without these Treif Foods
  • meat from mammals without hooves (like hares, rabbits, horses, camels, hyraxes, bats, and kangaroos)
  • meat from non-ruminants mammals (like pigs)
  • all invertebrates (like molluscs and insects) except for locusts
  • seafood without fins (like crabs and clams)
  • seafood without scales (like dolphins and catfish)
  • meat from reptiles and amphibians
  • meat from animals that eat other animals, including birds of prey (like vultures, eagles, and owls)
  • "New World" poultry (like ostrich, certain pheasants)
  • meat from injured or live animals
  • certain animal parts (like loins, sciatic nerve, certain fats, and blood)
  • derivatives from items on this list
With
  • exceptions for foods that are traditionally eaten (such as turkey)
  • fruit and vegetables
  • nuts
  • seeds, beans, and grains
  • honey
  • domesticated poultry (like chicken, duck, and - controversially - turkey)
  • meat from hooved ruminants (like cows, sheep, goats, and deer)
  • seafood with fins and scales (like tuna, salmon, and trout)
  • dairy (is also allowed in bread that is never eaten with meat)
  • allowed "pareve" foods prepared separately from meat, dairy, and their derivatives (like eggs from allowed animals)
  • certain foods converted to pareve (like some meat-derived gelatins and rennets)
  • certain types of locusts
Without Disallowed Mixtures (food and preparation)
  • meat and dairy, or their derivatives
  • meat and fish, or their derivatives
  • meat and its derivatives in common bread
  • dairy and its derivatives in common bread
Foods labeled pareve may not be sufficiently free of dairy to not list contains: milk. For this reason, people with a milk allergy should not rely on pareve labels.

Special Preparations
  • by Jews only
  • for grape derivatives (like wine and cream of tartar)
  • for meat and poultry (for example, blood must be drained or broiled off)
  • for cheese and other dairy products, with some variation
  • for bread, with some variation (most bread must be pareve)
  • requiring crops grown far from vinyards
  • requiring fruit picked from plants that are at least three years old

Labels that are not kosher-certified may include ingredients or preparation methods that are not kosher.


 

Paleo-Compatible

This diet is built on the premise that foods available to early humans are easier to digest.

Without
  • dairy (except for yogurt and ghee)
  • grains
  • legumes
  • nightshades
  • synthetic or artificial ingredients
  • refined or processed ingredients (may be substituted)
With
  • most other vegetables
  • fruits
  • seeds and nuts
  • meat
  • fish and shellfish
Also select dairy-free in Advanced Search to narrow results.

 

Pescatarian (Lacto-Ovo)

Without:
  • meat (like red meat, pork, and poultry)
  • slaughtered meat derivatives (like animal rennets or gelatin)
With:
  • fish
  • shellfish
  • eggs
  • dairy
  • fruit and vegetables
  • nuts
  • seeds, beans, and grains
  • insect by-products (like honey)

 

Pescatarian (Lacto)

Without:
  • meat (like red meat, pork, and poultry)
  • slaughtered meat derivatives (like animal rennets or gelatin)
  • eggs
With:
  • fish
  • shellfish
  • dairy
  • fruit and vegetables
  • nuts
  • seeds, beans, and grains
  • insect by-products (like honey)

 

Pescatarian (Ovo)

Without:
  • meat (like red meat, pork, and poultry)
  • slaughtered meat derivatives (like animal rennets or gelatin)
  • dairy
With:
  • fish
  • shellfish
  • eggs
  • fruit and vegetables
  • nuts
  • seeds, beans, and grains
  • insect by-products (like honey)

 

Raw-Compatible

Without:
  • processed or refined foods (may be substituted)
  • foods heated above 115°F (46°C). Ingredients, like pasta sauce, may be substituted for their raw version, like pizza sauce.
With:
  • wild or organic foods
  • raw foods
  • foods heated under 115°F (46°C)
  • fermented foods

 

Vegan

Without:
  • meat (like red meat, pork, poultry, fish, and shellfish)
  • eggs
  • dairy
  • other meat derivatives (like animal rennets or gelatin)
  • insect by-products (like honey)
With:
  • fruit and vegetables
  • nuts
  • seeds, beans, and grains
Strict veganism also precludes fruits and vegetables that rely on farmed insects. As there is much variation according to preference and location, manually remove these ingredients through Advanced Search.

 

Vegetarian (Lacto-ovo)

Without:
  • meat (like red meat, pork, and poultry)
  • fish and shellfish
  • slaughtered meat derivatives (like animal rennets or gelatin)
With:
  • dairy
  • eggs
  • insect by-products (like honey)
  • fruit and vegetables
  • nuts
  • seeds, beans, and grains

 

Vegetarian (Lacto)

Without:
  • meat (like red meat, pork, and poultry)
  • fish and shellfish
  • slaughtered meat derivatives (like animal rennets or gelatin)
  • eggs
With:
  • dairy
  • insect by-products (like honey)
  • fruit and vegetables
  • nuts
  • seeds, beans, and grains

 

Vegetarian (Ovo)

Without:
  • meat (like red meat, pork, and poultry)
  • fish and shellfish
  • slaughtered meat derivatives (like animal rennets or gelatin)
  • dairy
With:
  • eggs
  • insect by-products (like honey)
  • fruit and vegetables
  • nuts
  • seeds, beans, and grains

Discuss the risks and benefits of following a diet with your physician.


 High-Ingredient
















 No&Low-Ingredient









 

Low-Glycemic

A food's glycemic index indicates how fast its carbohydates are digested. Slowly digested foods have low glycemic indices and do not spike blood sugar levels, wheareas quickly digested foods have high glycemic indices and cause sugar rushes. A glycemic index must be clinically measured from actual blood samples, and can vary widely for a food depending on its preparation and consumption. Very rough glycemic load estimates can be calculated from known glycemic indices. The glycemic load also takes into account the amount of carbohydrate per serving. As with any diet, the risks and benefits of following this diet should be discussed with a physician.







 Ingredient-Free















































* Products Only

Refine Your Search

 In Ingredient List (default): Find this ingredient in a list of ingredients.
Examples: You are seeking muffins with pieces of nuts, not muffins with nut flour. You'd like to specifically use the soy milk or the tomatoes in your fridge. You want to find a recipe that uses mayonnaise, not a recipe that requires you to make mayonnaise.

 As A Component: Expand to ingredients that have this ingredient as a component.
Examples: You seek muffins that have nuts in any form (oil, milk, ...) Soy milk is one of your safe foods and you want to expand to anything made from soy milk, like tofu or soy cheese. Uncle Phil likes tomatoey dishes, so you are looking for something that has tomatoes, even if that means from a can of tomato paste. You don't mind making mayonnaise if that's what's called for in this recipe.

If you would like to find tomato OR soy milk, type tomato OR soymilk and click +.

Add substitutes for broader results. For example, a recipe calling for any fruit might show up if you want something with apples.

Exclude others for results that only have ingredients (and their derivatives) within a SafeList.
The SafeList automatically ignores usually safe and optional ingredients such as salt, sugar, and flavoring. Results may include only a few of the ingredients from the SafeList. A Safelist search takes up to 20 minutes. When you save a Profile Shortcut, we run the search for you while you sleep so that your future searches only take seconds. When using a SafeList Profile shortcut during a search, any ingredients under "with" will be added to the SafeList. A search with two SafeList Profile shortcuts will yield an intersection SafeList.

Sensitivity Settings

 Not In Ingredient List: Exclude this particular ingredient in a list of ingredients.
Examples: You don't have a soy allergy, but you don't want to find stir-fry dishes that use fresh soy beans. You are an allergy veteran and know exactly how to substitute unsafe ingredients so you're casting your net very wide. When you say you don't want mayonnaise, you also mean you don't want to make your own mayonnaise.

 Mostly-Free: Only allow results that mostly do not contain this ingredient.
Examples: You are an intolerance veteran and are casting your net pretty wide. When you say you don't want mayonnaise, you also mean you don't want to make your own mayonnaise. This search may find amounts that qualify for "-free" nutrition labeling guidelines set by the FDA, such as 0.5g fat per serving for "fat-free".

 No Derivatives: Also exclude derivatives that are not refined or hydrolized.
Examples: You have a soy allergy but can tolerate soy lecithin and hydrolized soy protein. Results would exclude soy milk, tofu, and any other soy ingredient that is not refined. You have fine-tuned which foods are safe and not safe. You're okay making your own mayonnaise so long as it uses your safe foods.

 No Trace (default): Also exclude refined and hydrolized derivatives, and ingredients with trace amounts.
Examples: This would exlude soy lecithin, hydrolized vegetable proteins, cereal extracts, starch, refined oils, and other refined derivatives. It would also exclude ingredients with tiniest amounts of the allergen, for example milk with alpha-gal. You are fairly new to the allergy world, or have reactions caused by traces of food allergens. You don't want results labeled "caffeine-free" even if the levels are tiny. You're okay making your own graham crackers to use in a crust recipe so long as they use your safe foods.

These settings do not avoid cross-reactors (like cashews if you are allergic to mangoes) and common contaminators (like corn starch in confectioner's sugar—unless there is no other option). Always read labels to make sure ingredients are safe for you.

Click to further narrow your search.
To assign a sensitivity setting for an individual ingredient in a group (like almonds in tree nuts), unselect the ingredient from its group, type the ingredient name, click - to add the ingredient individually to Without, and change the setting for that ingredient. Else the strictest setting for that ingredient (either indvidually or in its group) will prevail.